Innovate Collaborate Grow

Events, Press Room & Rankings


Newth Morris

The Beall Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship presents the Fall 2016 Distinguished Speaker Series


UC Irvine Business School Timeline




1965 Richard C. Snyder, Graduate School of Administration  
1967 George W. Brown, Graduate School of Administration
1972 Lyman W. Porter, Graduate School of Administration & Graduate School of Management
1983 Newt Margulies, Graduate School of Management
1988 Dennis Aigner, Graduate School of Management
1997 John King (interim), Graduate School of Management
1997 David Blake, Graduate School of Management
2002 Jone Pearce (interim), Graduate School of Management
2004 Andrew J. Policano, The Paul Merage School of Business

Rajeev Tyagi (interim), The Paul Merage School of Business

2014 Eric R. Spangenberg, The Paul Merage School of Business





Read a recap of UC Irvine Graduate School of Management History 1966-1972 compiled by Dean Lyman Porter


  October 4, 1965, is first day of class
1965 School name is Graduate School of Administration
1965 Master of Science in Administration, Master of Public Administration, and Master of Business and Public Administration degrees offered
1965 Founding Faculty: Fred Tonge, Jr.
1969 School becomes member of AACSB, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
1981 School name is changed to Graduate School of Management
1981 Master of Business Administration degree offered
1981 Corporate Partners Program introduced
1985 Endowment reaches $1 million dollars
1985 School gains international recognition for its integrated information technology curriculum
1986 EMBA program introduced
1986 Robert Gumbiner Health Care Management Endowed Chair awarded to Professor Paul J. Feldstein
1987 Alumni Base reaches 1000
1987 School earns AACSB accreditation
1988 Walter B. Gerken Chair in Enterprise and Society Endowed Chair awarded to Professor Richard B. McKenzie
1989 New Graduate School of Management building, designed by Robert Venturi, is dedicated
1990 FEMBA program introduced
1991 Executive Education Programs launched
1991 Center for Research on Information Technology in Organizations (CRITO) is launched
1997 HCEMBA program introduced
1997 UC Irvine Business School enters Top 50 ranking (US News & World Report)
1998 Taco Bell Endowed Chair in Information Technology Management awarded to Ken Kraemer
1998 Center for Leadership Development (now the Center for Global Leadership) launched
2002 School expands into MPAA building
2003 Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation (now the Beall Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship) launched
2004 Paul Merage Family Foundation pledges $30 million to business school
2004 Alumni Base reaches 5000
2004 School Endowment Fund reaches $5 million
2005 Graduate School of Management is renamed The Paul Merage School of Business
2005 Center for Investment and Wealth Management launched
2005 Dean's Leadershp Circle launched
2006 Merage Chair in Business Growth awarded to Dean’s Professor David Hirshleifer
2006  Center for Real Estate launched
2006 AACSB Bridge Program (educating future business school educators) introduced (developed and taught at UC Irvine)
2007 The Beall Family Foundation pledges $6.6 million to rename The Beall Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship
2007 Center for Health Care Management and Policy is launched
2007  Emeritus Professor Edward A. Dickson Endowed Chair awarded to Emeritus Professor Lyman W. Porter
2007 School Endowment Fund reaches $15 million
2008 Undergraduate Business Major Introduced
2009 Taco Bell Endowed Chair in Information Technology Management awarded to Professor Vijay Gurbaxani
2010 Dean Andrew Policano chairs AACSB, the top international accreditation organization for business schools
2010 John S. and Marilyn Long Institute for US-China Business and Law launched with $2.5 million gift
2011 First Undergraduate Business Majors walk at commencement (9 graduate on the leading edge of Class of 2012)
2011 School Endowment Fund reaches $20 million
2011 Center for Leadership and Team Development is renamed the Center for Global Leadership
Dean's Leadership Circle Professorship awarded to Andrew J. Policano
2012 Center for Digital Transformation launches
2013 Groundbreaking held for Building for the Future on the Merage School campus
2013 Master of Professional Accountancy (MPAc) is launched
2013 Master of Science in Biotechnology Management (MSBTM)  and Master of Science in Engineering Management are launched

Business School ranks among Top 25 in the Nation, Top 50 in the World (Financial Times)


Undergrad program debuts among Top 50 in the Nation (US News & World Report)

2015 FEMBA program ranked among Top 5 in California (US News & World Report)
2015 New Building Gala & Open House