The Center for Health Care Management and Policy    

Charter and Advisory Board Members

The Board of Advisors assists the Center in its mission to engage the local health care community to become a leading player in the health care policy arena. 





Robert Braithwaite

President and CEO, Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian

Jay J. Cohen, MD, MBA

Senior Vice President, External Affairs, Optum Collaborative Care, Executive Chairman, Monarch HealthCare

Howard J. Federoff, MD, PhD

CEO, UC Irvine Health System, Vice Chancellor, Health Affairs, UC Irvine

Christopher De Rosa

President/West Region, CIGNA

Mission Hospital Regional Medical Center

Jeffrey H. Margolis

Executive Chairman, Welltok, Inc.

Mark Schafer, MD

CEO, MemorialCare Medical Foundation

David L. Steffy

Private Investor

Michael S. Mallory

Senior Vice President, Anthem Blue Cross





Richard F. Afable, MD, MPH
President and CEO, St. Joseph Hoag Health


Terry Belmont, MPH
UC Irvine Health


Robert Beltran, MD
Senior Executive Medical Director, Brand New Day


Richard Chambers
Plan President, Molina Healthcare

Christopher H. Coulter, MD
Chief Medical Director, Precept Group

Wendy Dorchester, PhD
Chief Financial Officer, Long Beach Memorial

James Elliot
Vice President, Blue Shield of California


Alan Hoops
Chairman of the Board, Health Essentials LLC


Debi Klein

Vice President of Philanthropy, St. John’s Healthcare Foundation

Deanna Kyrimis
CEO, Arch Health Partners

Dale L. Macrae
Senior Vice President, Aon Hewitt


Marcia Manker

CEO, Orange Coast Memorial Medical Center

Gerald A. McCall
Senior Vice President, Operations, Southern California Region, Kaiser Permanente

Christine Metz
Senior Vice President, National Sales, Welvie


Penny Randall, MD, MBA

Vice President, Quintiles

Murray N. Ross, PhD
VP, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Director, Kaiser Permanente Institute for Health Policy


Gina Tapper
Director, BDO Center for Health Care Excellence and Innovation

David L. Tsoong, MD
Principal, Pinnacle Senior Care

Betty K. Tu, MD, MBA
Principal, Pinnacle Senior Care

Tammy Tucker
Former Vice President, Anthem Blue Cross

Bud Volberding

Principal, Avalon Healthcare Consulting

Laurence D. Wellikson, MD, SFHM
CEO, Society of Hospital Medicine


Chris Wing

CEO, SCAN Health Plan

Maureen Zehntner

Former CEO, UCI Medical Center


The Center also acknowledges the hours of valuable time donated by its numerous Advisory Board members who are individually named at the Center for Health Care Management and Policy website. The Board, which meets quarterly, includes representatives from hospitals, medical groups and a variety of companies in the medical and insurance industries, as well as health care consultants. They help inform the Center on the latest developments in the health care industry and offer guidance related to research, education, conferences and events.