Dean's Quarterly Spring 2012
Share on
Spring 2012 Home < >

Face2Face and Archon Each Win $15,000 in 2012 Business Plan Competition

The Face2Face team, which offers an interactive communication platform for physicians and patients to communicate, won the Campus Wide Division of the 2012 Business Plan Competition. The Archon Medical Technologies, LLC team, which is developing a low-cost mechanical suturing device that decreases healing time and reduces the risk of infection, won the Life Science Division of the competition. Both teams will take home $15,000 each in cash along with other in-kind prizes. The Archon team has also qualified to compete in the statewide California Dreamin’ Competition for awards totaling $100,000. Members of the winning teams included:

Charlie Baecker
Charlie Baecker, director of The Don Beall Center for
Innovation and Entrepreneurship, presents awards to
Archon Medical Technologies, LLC team members
Derek Wong, Ang Andy Tu and Summer Ko.
Face2Face Team Archon Team
Lisa Cilbourn
Marissa Green
Nima Amipour
Christopher Viveiros
Summer Ko
Derek Wong
Sohail Zahid
Daniel Peng
Stephen Van Kooten
Leslie Myint
Ang Andy Tu
Anvesh Annandanam
Luis Herrera
Haley Huang

"This Business Plan Competition featured the strongest field of competitors we have had in the history of this event,” said Charlie Baecker, administrative director of the Merage School’s Don Beall Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. “The level of entrepreneurial talent was incredible and we saw some amazing new technology, business models and “go-to-market” strategies which point to why UC Irvine is the business innovation powerhouse that it is."

Face2Face team
Face2Face team wins Campus Wide Division of 2012
Business Plan Competition. (From Left): Face2Face
team coach Alvin Viray and team members Alex
Danilychev, Christopher Viveiros ‘13, Jennifer Green,
Angelo Oddo, Nima Alipour and Lisa Clibourn ‘13.

Sponsored by Source Scientific, Fort Ashford, UC Irvine Environment Institute, Experian, Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth Attorneys at Law, and Bingham, the five-month-long Business Plan Competition came to a close April 27 with 20 teams competing for the attention of a judging panel of venture capitalists and entrepreneurs, and for a portion of the $70,000 in cash prizes. Winners of the 2012 competition included:

Campus Wide Competition

First Place ($15,000 + $3,600 in kind from Tech Portal Calit2): Face2Face, coached by Alvin Viray

Second Place ($7,500): Syndesis Health, coached by Ralph Stern

Third Place ($2,500): BlueVortex, LLC, coached by Paul Donahue

Best Concept Paper:, coached by Susan Ellis


Undergraduate Competition

First Place ($2,500): StreamFair, coached by Doug Pennington

Second Place ($1,500): Spawnd, coached by Ash Kumra

Third Place ($1,000): CrowdScholar, coached by Kirsten Mangers

Best Concept Paper: StreamFair

Life Sciences Competition

First Place ($15,000 + $6,000 in kind from Tech Portal Orange): Archon Medical

Technologies, LLC, coached by Judy Stechert

Second Place ($7,500): Impetro Technologies, coached by Mike Mesenbrink

Third Place ($2,500): CircuSonic Therapeutic, coached by Gary Sanders

Best Concept Paper: ValveStrong, coached by Stanton Rowe

Special Awards People's Choice Poll Award ($1,500): CrowdScholar

Fort Ashford InfoTech Innovation Award ($2,500): IMPower, coached by Demetri Andrikos

UCI Environment Institute Clean Tech Award ($7,500): BlueVortex, LLC

Legal Venture Counsel, Inc. Award ($5,000 in kind): Spawnd

California Dreaming Award: Archon Medical Technologies, LLC

The Business Plan Competition is hosted each year by the Don Beall Center of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and is one of the premier university-run business plan competitions in the United States. For more information visit

Share on
Spring 2012 Home < >

Mark Your Calendar

For all upcoming events visit:

MBA Program Admissions Events and Information Sessions
Invite prospective students for Full- Time, Fully Employed, Executive and Health Care Executive MBA programs starting in fall 2012.
Distinguished Speaker Series

MAY 15, 2012
Todd J. Teske
Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer, Briggs & Stratton Corporation